top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Whisk Journal

Pistachio Tea cakes

Make your afternoon tea a little bit greener with these PISTACHIO TEA CAKES- very easy to make, and easy to eat.

Mini cakes are god send! They can be quickly and swiftly eaten, even before you or anyone has the chance to count how many you have had 😜 Right? So, next on my colour series are these Pistachio tea cakes with pistachio glaze. I assure you, I did not wait for the tea to be done before I had atleast one of these tea cakes. Pistachio flavour has a unique sweet yet nutty side to it, which is so precious in the dessert world(my opinion, of course!)- it gives any dessert a nice texture to it. I really enjoyed using pistachio in these tea cakes. Usually tea cakes are based on almond flavour, so I decided to use some other kind of nut for these tea cakes. You can as always, prefer to use any other nuts as per your liking. Just ensure that it mixes well with the batter and helps in the baking process.

In acknowledging my failures, as an amateur baker, I have to mention that this was my second batch of tea cake. Before this one, I had tried tea cakes on similar lines, last year, but they totally mashed up when I tried to remove them from the silicone molds. Turn out, I not only had a very smooth batter but I did not allow the cakes to cool down before I tried to take them out of the molds - major lesson learnt! I now always make it it a point to allow atleast 30-45 mins to cool down cakes and cupcakes, so I do not end up with mashed up cakes 😶 If you do make these mini cakes, do not forget to tag me @thewhiskjournal on Instagram.


 




Ingredients

Pistachio tea cakes

1 ½ Cup Flour

½ tsp Baking soda

½ tsp Salt

¾ Cup Caster Sugar

2 Eggs, medium

12 tbsp unsalted butter, softened

2 tsp Vanilla Essence

½ Cup Buttermilk

½ Cup Pistachios, ground

2 drops Leaf green food gel


Pistachio Glaze

½  Cup Sugar, powdered

4 tbsp Milk

¾ Cup Pistachios, finely chopped


Directions


Pistachio tea cakes

1. Preheat the oven to 180C (356F) or 160C (320F) for a fan forced oven. Grease the mini bundt pan.

2. Sift the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar into a mixer bowl. Mix them at a low speed until well combined.

3. Add in the softened butter and mix for 3-4 mins.

4. Mix eggs, buttermilk and vanilla essence in a small bowl. Add in the pistachios and green food gel color.

5. Add this mixture to the dry mixture in the mixer bowl.

6. Continue to mix on medium speed until no dry mixture is visible.

7. Divide the batter equally into the mini bundt pan.

8. Bake for 20-22 mins.

9. Allow the tea cakes to be cooled completely before glazing them.


Pistachio Glaze

1. Mix all the ingredients in a small bowl. Combine the mixture gently and completely.

2. Once a liquid texture is obtained, drizzle the glaze onto the tea cakes.


 


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page