top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Whisk Journal

Churro Ice cream sandwich

An ice cream dessert that kids and adults will enjoy equally!

How do you feel about fried desserts- Yay or Naah? I always shy away from fried things, sweet or savory. I just do not like to fry, I avoid it all costs 😊 I delegate it to my husband who does a pretty good job. Having said that, it doesn't mean I do not like eating fried things. I will eat them with no regrets.

I never thought I would make Churro at home. I mean we get it in stores so easily- why to make at home, right? They have specialized store only selling Churros. In Melbourne, there are quite few outlets of San Churros and I just walk into the store when I crave for some chocolate dipped churros. But reading and then actually finding out that making homemade churros is so easy, I may give it a second thought. Though they might not be as crunchy as store bought ones-but I can easily make them when I feel like.

While making the churros dough, just ensure you match the water quantity to the flour. That is basic start to making churros. Just ensure that the dough is clean and non sticky when it is done. I used unsalted butter and so I had to add salt but if you are using normal butter, skip the salt. When frying the churros, do not over fry it as we need them to be soft inside while being crunchy outside. Ideal temperature would be 190 degree Celsius and at that temperature, if you are frying 3-4 churros at a time, it will take around 5-6 minutes for the churros to fry golden brown.

And if you want to, try other flavours instead of just vanilla ice cream- I am thinking salted caramel ice cream with a drizzle of caramel sauce would be just what the doctor ordered!


I think Kids are going to absolutely love this ice cream sandwich, with different flavour combos, they can add in their favorite ice cream in between the churro spirals. And if you are looking for a healthier version, just bake the churros in the oven in two equal batches at 200 deg Celsius for about 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. See tasty can be healthy!

If you do make these ice cream sandwiches, do not forget to tag me and let me know how they turned out 😊




 




Ingredients


Churro Ice cream sandwich

2 Cups Water

2 Cups Plain flour

½ Cup Unsalted Butter

½ tsp Baking powder

½ tsp Vanilla extract

¼ Cup Brown Sugar

1 tsp Salt

Sunflower oil, for frying


3 tbsp Caster Sugar

2 tbsp Brown Sugar

1 tbsp Cinnamon powder


1 Tub Vanilla Ice cream

Chocolate Sauce, if required



Directions

Churro Ice cream sandwich

  1. In a large pot, bring to boil the water, salt and butter.

  2. Add in the brown sugar and mix. Add in baking powder.

  3. Add in the plain flour and mix swiftly. Turn off the heat, and continue to mix until a smooth dough is formed.

  4. Add in vanilla extract and mix again.

  5. Transfer the dough into a piping bag lined with a star tip.

  6. Line a sheet with parchment paper, and pipe 16-20 spirals with no gaps in the loop. place each spiral 2 cm apart from each other.

  7. Refrigerate for 1 hour.

  8. Heat the oil in a deep pot, over high heat.

  9. Fry 2-3 Spiral churros at a time till golden brown.

  10. Mix cinnamon powder, brown sugar(2 tbsp) and caster sugar. Coat each churro spiral in this mixture.

  11. When ready to be served, place one scoop of ice cream in between the two churro spirals. You can top it with drizzle of chocolate sauce.

 





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page